We Love Charleston, SC

Posted: August 17, 2007 in Family, History

My wife and I love Charleston, SC for multiple reasons. We love the fact that we began dating there, were engaged there, lived there our first year and a half of marriage, and had our first child there. But we also love it because of the water and because of the history of the place. I took this picture while we were on a water taxi taking us from the Charleston Harbor near the SC Aquarium to Patriot’s Point where the USS Yorktown (a retired aircraft carrier) is docked. We then took a small cruise ship around the Harbor and learned about the various Civil War area military forts: Moultrie, Johnson and Sumter, the latter of which absorbed the cannon shot which effectively began the War Between the States. Before this, we were privileged to visit the house of a prominent early 19th century merchant, Nathaniel Russell, whose family lived at 51 Meeting Street. Surrounding all of this, we stayed in the Andrew Pinckney Inn (don’t really know who he is), which is one block from the Historic Market Street. And the great thing is, there is so much more for us to see the next time we go. We’re hoping we can talk some of our friends into going with us. We can take a stroll down King Street, eat at 82 Queen, walk through the graveyard where John C. Calhoun is buried and take a horse drawn carriage tour around the historic city. I can’t wait until the kids are old enough to really get what a great place this is!

Comments
  1. malchusear says:

    If there is a way for us to swing it, we are in.

  2. Jamie cain says:

    Charleston is definitely a great place. We have friends in Mt. Pleasant, and they’ve welcomed us more than a few times. We loved visiting the Aquarium with Cullen, and the downtown is amazing!

    I had a similar experience in Annapolis recently. These old cities that are bursting with history don’t get enough “play.”

  3. Eric says:

    I fully admit my lacking of appreciation of such things (historical sites, that is). I think I’d appreciate it more if I was more invested in the stories than accompany such places – like if I read an account of a soldier who was at Fort Sumter, that would totally make it more real to me. A boring tour guide that drones on about the dates and events like they were a walking encyclopedia article just doesn’t work for me.

    Another good example would be going to visit places famous people lived – if I haven’t read anything they have written, or at very least a biography… it’s boring.

    Anywho, it was good to hang out on Saturday, Shane. Heather and I were thinking about visiting Ivy Creek one Sunday morning, and maybe you guys could come visit the house church (we meet Sunday evenings). I couldn’t find your email address on this site, so just hit me up on the email and we’ll talk. Oh, and if you don’t see my email address, do this: Sign in to the admin (Dashboard) ->
    click Comments -> and then scroll down to my comment and it should have my email address. =)

  4. Cameron says:

    Sounds lovely. I’ve taken mental notes for the next time I’m down there.

  5. beadlemania says:

    We have wanted to visited Charleston for a while. Jill has never been and it has been more than 20 years since I visited with our family.

  6. beadlemania says:

    We have wanted to visited many places…can you tell I helped start a classical school?

  7. Ammons says:

    Yes, it is very obvious you helped started a classical school.

    Seriously, we need to plan a trip there. See you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

